Kym’s Words

Our friend Kym Sterner is amazing – a super-woman, truly.  I have so much respect for her – she is a genuinely awesome person.  She leads bootcamp at the Oakland YMCA (and does it all as a volunteer), is an engineer (smarty pants) and has a wonderful family life (and I adore both her boys, Andrew and Cory).  She is incredibly motivating, outgoing, intelligent… I could go on.  I’m just lucky to know her and call her one of my good friends.

She’s been so supportive of us in our adoption journey, I asked her recently “can I quote you??”  In true Kym style, she took it even further and wrote a lovely “endorsement”.  If you don’t want to read all of this, just read the second to last sentence.  I get choked up every time I read that.  I know she means it and that means the world to me.

I will call this  “Kym’s endorsement”.  It’s a bit long but how do you edit such a glowing review of yourself???

“I have known Teresa and Michael Hardy for several years and can imagine you, just now, getting to know them through their website.  Yes, they sound too good to be true.  Once you have met them you, like many before you, will be changed.  They have this aura that inexplicably makes you feel drawn in, included in something wonderful and somehow particularly and specifically worthy, even at the same time that their individual and shared depth of character, scope of aptitudes, wit and humor, and warmth and integrity could understandably leave you in awe.  They are intelligent, talented, hard-working, self-reflective, community-minded, healthy, fun, welcoming and open-hearted, discerning yet accepting, and most importantly loving, of each other and those around them.  They are generous in nature, always offering to help with their time or skills and experiences, but they maintain a priority to their relationship so that they are not spread too thin.  They are contagiously goal-oriented with high standards and expectations, inspire others to do their best in their endeavors and are willing to push, pull, and prod in support. They do not take the easy route, unless it would be imprudent to do otherwise.  They tell it like it is.  They roll as they need to with life’s ups and down (It was difficult to watch Teresa in a state of loss having to accept and process the death of her father, and deal with the “to do list” that befalls those left behind, though she did such with grace even though her sadness was palpable.).  They are educated, well-read, interested and involved leaders and builders of community, but do it for not for reasons of the ego but for reasons of the heart.  They are self-effacing without being self-deprecating.  They have strong, well-defined values defined through challenge and optimism.  They are quirky and original and just really all-around lovely folk.  People are simply better once they’ve been exposed; I know I am.  Ever since I found out that they were hoping to adopt a child and create a family, I have teased them about adopting me.  Of course I would love to be a part of their family, but even more telling, I would entrust my own dear children to them.   You are fortunate to have found them.”

Kym with husband Dave, and sons Andrew and Corey after completing her first 1/2 Ironman triathlon. See? I told you she was super-woman!

September 25, 2010. Quotes.